(Image Credit: Kichigin19 Photography)

The More Explicit, The Better? Eroticism and Women in Young Adult Fiction

The more explicit, the better. At least, that’s what seems to be the widely accepted rule when it comes to fiction today. Television shows are getting less censored, movies are pushing their ratings to R and, my favorite of the trifecta, novels, are going more and more in depth in describing life’s most intimate moments. Continue reading

Advertisements

POLL: Who would be your ideal on-screen Trent Maddox?

Colton Haynes (Image Credit: Crestock) / Channing Tatum (Image Credit: The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas)

Colton Haynes (Image Credit: Crestock) / Channing Tatum (Image Credit: The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas)

There’s a new Maddox Brother in town! Fans of Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster met Trenton Maddox in Jamie McGuire’s latest hit novel, Beautiful Oblivion (check out our review). Naturally our first thoughts went straight to who could play the hunky brother on the big screen! Trent is a tattoo artist who has been described as the guy that every guy wanted to be and every girl wanted their shot at taming, but also caring and thoughtful. Which Hollywood Hottie do you think could pull off the perfect Trent? Vote now in The Daily Quirk poll and check out our gallery of hunky choices below! Continue reading

Book Review: ‘Beautiful Oblivion’ by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful OblivionJamie McGuire knows her smut stuff. I mean, this woman has sucked me for three consecutive books. I literally haven’t been able to put them down. And when I wasn’t reading her books I found myself wondering about those Maddox boys and their ladies; it’s addictive I tell you!

And Beautiful Oblivion was no different.

In her newest book, Jamie delves into the story of another Maddox brother, Trent, and his attempts at romancing the local bartender, Cami.

One thing I really loved about this book was that the timeline overlaps with Beautiful Distaster and Walking Disaster, but from a completely different perspective: Cami’s. Admittedly, it took me a while to figure out who Cami and Trent were in relation to Travis and Abby and their story since I read both Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster over a year ago and flew through them. (I don’t know how much I can emphasize that Jamie McGuire’s books have captured my reading attention fully, ha!) But once I jumped into the story it all came back and it was great to see Cami and Trent’s story develop amidst the crazy love saga of Abby and Travis.

While Travis is busy trying to win the heart of Abby in the most tumultuous relationship ever, Trent is edging his way into Cami’s life despite the fact that she has a boyfriend who currently lives in California. Trent is a charming, attractive tattoo artist and, most importantly, a Maddox. Needless to say, Cami has her work cut out for her.

Without giving too much away, Cami ultimately has to decide what kind of life she wants.: a life living under her father’s constant watch, pining over her long distance boyfriend who she never sees and rarely talks to; or a life with Trent Maddox that’s sure to be entertaining and full of a whole lot of passion. I won’t tell you what she chooses but it will surprise you.

Needless to say, if you need a good beach read this summer I highly recommend this book. The witty conversation, the sexual chemistry, the charming Trent Maddox – Beautiful Oblivion has it all.

Now we just have to just wait for the next Maddox brother to sweep us off our feet and convince us all to get tattoos.

TDQ Tags TDQblogger016
Book (Image Credit: Arend Vermazeren)

What exactly is the ‘New Adult’ Genre?

Book

Book (Image Credit: Arend Vermazeren)

A few months ago I was searching the internet for book suggestions. I found one eventually and scrolled down for more information. The category was listed as New Adult. I typically consider myself on the up and up as far as what’s happening with new books. However, I had no idea what this was.

After some more hours online, I cracked the code. Here are a few things that can help you tell if a book is under the new adult grouping: Continue reading

Book Review: ‘Levitating Las Vegas’ by Jennifer Echols

Levitating Las Vegas (Image Credit: Jennifer Echols)

Levitating Las Vegas (Image Credit: Jennifer Echols)

Levitating Las Vegas was an interesting experience for me. As a Jennifer Echols fan who has read all her previous books, I felt like I had some idea of what to expect. While in some ways those expectations were met, in other ways this book was a (not necessarily unwelcome) departure for Echols. Continue reading

Book Review: ‘Walking Disaster’ by Jamie McGuire

Walking Disaster (Image Credit: Jamie McGuire)

Walking Disaster (Image Credit: Jamie McGuire)

There really are two sides to every story and Jamie McGuire makes that point very well with her latest book, Walking Disaster, which tells the story of Abby Abernathy and Travis Maddox of Beautiful Disaster, this time from the first person point of view of the male half of the duo, Travis. I am going to jump right to the goods and tell you I absolutely loved this book and found it to be just as entertaining as the first, maybe even more so. Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, I’ll clue you in to why I thoroughly enjoyed Walking Disaster (and its predecessor) and think you will too. Continue reading

An Interview with ‘Walking Disaster’ Author Jamie McGuire

Walking Disaster & Author Jamie McGuire (Image Credit: Jamie McGuire)

Walking Disaster & Author Jamie McGuire (Image Credit: Jamie McGuire)

The Daily Quirk is thrilled to be able to bring you an interview with New York Times Best Selling Author Jamie McGuire in advance of the release of her latest book, Walking Disaster (available April 2nd)! I first became aware of Ms. McGuire and her books in the summer of 2012 when a friend said she was reading a b0ok I had to check out for a feature on the site- Beautiful Disaster. Always on the lookout for good reads to share with our readers, I picked up Beautiful Disaster and didn’t put it down till I was done. I was instantly interested in featuring McGuire and her books on the site and lucky for us she was kind enough to give us an interview last July just as Beautiful Disaster made its way onto the New York Times Best Seller list.

Since then, McGuire’s success has continued to skyrocket with Beautiful Disaster being optioned for a movie and the highly anticipated publication of Walking Disaster (read our review on April 1st before the book’s release!), an alternate point of view novel told from Travis Maddox of  Beautiful Disaster’s perspective, on the horizon. I am more than pleased to say all the fame and success does not seem to have changed McGuire’s lovely personality one bit, and she is just as friendly and gracious as she was when we first interviewed her last year. She was kind enough to take some time out of her extremely busy publicity schedule to talk to us yet again, this time about Walking Disaster and the other exciting projects she has on the way! Read on for the interview…

Continue reading

POLL: Who is your ideal Abby Abernathy from Beautiful Disaster?

POLL: Who is your ideal Abby Abernathy from Beautiful Disaster?

POLL: Who is your ideal Abby Abernathy from Beautiful Disaster?

Beautiful Disaster (Image Credit: Jamie McGuire) / Brittany Snow, Leighton Meester, Britt Robertson (Image Credit: Crestock)

Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Disaster is told from the point of view of Abby Abernathy, a college student trying to start over in a prim and proper lifestyle when she meets bad boy Travis Maddox- who throws her for a complete loop to say the least! Readers know Abby must be attractive if she caught Travis’ eye and she’s the kind of girl who looks just as great with no makeup, her hair tied up, and wearing old sweats as she does when she’s all dressed up. We also know she has caramel colored hair and grey eyes, but not much else, leading to heated debate among readers over which actress would be best for the role in the upcoming Beautiful Disaster film. The Daily Quirk wants to know who you think would make the ideal Abby in our latest Beautiful Disaster Poll!

Continue reading

Book Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

The title of this book is exactly what the story entails, a love affair that is a beautiful disaster from start to finish! When I first came across the book, I had not heard of it before, but almost all of the reviews were five stars and it was only $2.99 on my kindle; that was all it took for me to hit the purchase button and have it downloaded in 60 seconds (and boy was I happy I did!). Continue reading

Interview with Author Jamie McGuire

Author Jamie McGuire (Image Credit: Jamie McGuire)

Whenever I really enjoy a book, I find myself wishing I could ask the author a million questions about the characters, story, and their inspiration. Lucky for me, I write for this blog and every now and then I get to actually do it (ok, I don’t get to ask a million questions, but even getting to ask a few is pretty awesome)! As soon as I finished reading Beautiful Disaster for my Review, we reached out to Jame McGuire for an interview to find out more about her work. At the time she was busy promoting her latest book, Eden, but she was kind enough to tell us she would give us an interview in July. True to her word (she really seems like a lovely person) we set up an interview and here it is. Read on to find out more about Jamie, her books, and her inspiration!
On to the interview!